| Our Trip To Hawaii | Personal |

Today has been yucky.

Dark. Rainy. Gloomy.

It’s also been full on un-fun things that take away from my blogging time (hence the late night post): Studying for my Anatomy test, and working from home for my day job. See? I told you it was a yucky day.

And on this yucky day, I happened to glance at my calendar, and I remembered where I was this time last year.

Hawaii.

And I decided I would share some of my favorite moments and images from our trip. I blogged about this on my old blog last year, but I didn’t really put a whole lot of effort into it. I also (shame on me!) didn’t include any pictures. I KNOW. What was wrong with me? Anywho. Throw on your favorite bikini, grab a pina colada, sit back, and enjoy the late recap. Or just get comfy on your couch. Whichever you fancy πŸ™‚

After a total of 10 hours of flight time, this was a beautiful sight to see. This is the view I had of Oahu out of the plane window when we were preparing to land.

Seth and his mom went Skydiving while we were there. I think I was more nervous then they were. Needless to say, I kept my feet firmly planted on the ground. They had a great time though πŸ™‚

I love these baby blues πŸ™‚

Seth and I took a trip to the Waikiki Zoo, and this cool tree was right outside.

Loved these Zookeeper Notes!

Our large group (there were about 20 of us) went hiking in the forest. It was like something out of a fairytale. Snow White anyone?

The 6 hour time difference really threw us off. The first night there we tried to tire ourselves our by walking the beach. It was amazing!

Some beautiful scenery.

Another one of our trips included hiking Diamond Head. Seth took this lovely shot of me once I finally reached the summit.

It was worth it though. We were rewarded with an amazing panoramic view. My t-shirt even says so! I should have taken a picture of that…

Can I just say how awesome it was to see animals everywhere? Hawaiians are very much respectful of nature. This peacock was just wandering around the botanical gardens, and we later spotted him out in the parking lot. Also, chickens are everywhere on Oahu. These guys were spotted on the side of a mountain. Go figure.

I don’t remember what this place is called (Doris Duke’s?) but I do remember the crazy trip to get there. It involved scaling the side of a cliff. I know, adventurous. The cool thing is this in Hawaii, all beaches are public. So no matter how beautiful it is, you’re allowed to be there. Look at that clear blue water! And there’s goes Seth jumping in πŸ™‚

This is kind of a random shot, but I loved this fountain at the Ala Moana mall. It you live near Short Pump, it’s like our mall on steroids. HUGE!

Our major group trip included a visit to the Polynesian Culture Center. Our tour guide was super sweet (Amy!) and she told us all about how the Center is run. Many of the kids who attend Brigham Young University work there to take care of their tuition. It’s a really neat program.

We spent the day going to all these different “villages” to learn about each of the different Pacific Islands (Tahiti, Samoa, etc.). At the end of the day, we got to watch them all perform in a boat parade.

At the end of the night we got to attend a Traditional Hawaiian Luau. There was dinner and dancing, and at one point they invited anyone who was there for their anniversary to come up. This couple had been married the longest, 60 years. They were so sweet!

We ended our vacation by going out as a group to the Top Of Waikiki, a rotating restaurant. The food wasn’t exactly impressive, but I did have the most amazing Mango Pina Colada. We were also given a pretty awesome view πŸ™‚

Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

