Coaching Session with Katelyn James

I’ve been putting off writing this blog for almost a month now. I wanted to make sure to recap everything exactly, and say what I want to say perfectly. I think I’ve finally got it down 🙂

A few months ago, early summer I think, I got a Facebook message from Molly telling me that Katelyn James was offering coaching sessions. Katelyn did Molly’s engagement photos and shot her wedding back in February. I started stalking her blog from the first photo I saw. After Seth and I got engaged, I started reading almost every day, and KNEW I wanted this girl to be our wedding photographer (we’re still working on that!). On top of that, Katelyn is like the sweetest person ever. I knew this before I had even met her in person. She just SHARES so much! The more I read about her successful business, the more I wanted to learn from her. I emailed Katelyn a few times for advice and she always responded as best as she could.

Fast forward to that Facebook message…I clicked the link and squealed. Now normally this wouldn’t be such a bad thing…except I was at work in my cubicle and I really wasn’t supposed to be checking facebook messages, let alone squealing over the fact that KATELYN JAMES IS OFFERING COACHING SESSIONS!!!! I got home that night and “casually” mentioned them to Seth and joked that my birthday was quickly approaching. After checking the page again and seeing that each spot had already been scooped up, I gave up hopes of that birthday gift.

Then June rolled around, and I was sulking because it seemed like no one was remembering my birthday. Then when we went out for dinner, Seth told me that he and my dad had agreed to split the cost for me to attend a fall coaching session. I almost fell out of my chair. Seriously, I could not be more blessed. The important men in my life will move mountains to make me happy, and I could not be more appreciative.

After re-doing my hair 900 times (only for me to still hate it) I drove over to Starbucks and then to Katelyn’s house. After receiving an email from her around midnight the night before, I figured we could both use a little morning pick me up in the form of a pumpkin spice latte 🙂 I got to meet Katelyn’s sweet puppy Bokeh (why didn’t I think of that when we got Hailey?) and then we got down to business. I had written a notes document on my computer and we ran down the list, with Katelyn throwing out some things I had never even thought of. We got my pricing straight and she answered questions I had on the technical side of things. One of the major things I am thankful for is that Katelyn reminded me that it is ok for me to do things differently than everyone else. This is MY business, and I get to make the decisions. This is something I keep struggling to keep a hold of. We might have gotten off track once or twice (or more) talking about life, but I think that’s what happens when two girls get together anyway.

After the Q&A we met Jess at Bertucci’s for lunch, then headed out for some shooting practice. Let me just say, only Katelyn could see a parking garage or a patch of grass on the side of the road and see the beauty it holds. Check out these shots I got of Jess! Isn’t she so adorable? All posing credit goes to Katelyn, of course!

And of course I have to share a few of my new mentor! Katelyn don’t hate me, but I think this laughing shot is too cute not to share 🙂

Let me preface this next part by saying I am extremely self-confident. I am slowly learning to get past that, because I don’t believe that I can expect my clients to work it in front of my lens if I’m not willing to do it myself. Katelyn pushed me to be in the front of the camera a lot during this session, and I was super nervous and self-conscious. By the end, I felt fine, and was even making some funny faces 🙂 Katelyn, I just want to thank you for that. Thank you for capturing these beautiful images of me and helping me to realize I don’t look nearly as goofy as I think I do.

Katelyn, thank you again. I am so thankful for new friends, an amazing learning experience, and knowing I’m headed in the right direction.

2 thoughts on “Coaching Session with Katelyn James

  1. Pingback: Katelyn James Coaching Reunion | Personal | Stacey Dinch Photography

Leave a Reply

