| Mixed Up Monday | It’s Been a Year! |

I’m keeping today’s post short and sweet, since I know your minds are elsewhere. You’re still deciding whether to roast or fry the turkey (which for the record, I say roast), who is responsible for bringing the dinner rolls, and how on earth you’re going to fit THAT many people at one table. Me? I’m stressing over the 10 hour drive Seth and I are making tomorrow night to Indianapolis with Hailey in the back seat. She’s never traveled that long!

Amidst all the holiday chaos, I wanted to take a minute to celebrate something. Exactly one year ago today, Seth asked me to be his wife. I don’t have a glamorous story, but that’s ok, because it’s our story.

Last fall, we took a trip to Hawaii, and while we were there I broke my necklace. When we returned to Virginia, Seth and I went to Helzberg to get a replacement chain. I didn’t have the money, so he opened a credit card account with them. Then I got sent outside so he could talk with the salesman. I immediately called my grandma and told her I knew something was up. I was also confused though, because while we had talked about getting married before, we both planned on waiting awhile. After that night I tried to forget about it, but little things here and there made me suspicious.

In October, my Mamaw went into the hospital, and we weren’t sure if she was going to make it. Seth made the trip up to Pennsylvania with me. He knew that while he had to talk to my dad, he also had to ask my Pap when/if he ever decided to propose. I mentioned to him that he had the opportunity now, but he wanted to wait until we found out if my grandma was going to be ok. Once we found out everything would be fine, a bunch of us decided to go out to the legion. Seth went over to my Pap, and I was watching them intently. My aunt asked why I was so interested in what they were doing, and I said I was watching to see if Seth took the opportunity he had. She said, “I think he’s going to ask your pap if he can marry you.” I said that I knew that already. She was a liiiiitle tipsy, and must have misunderstood what I said, because the next thing out of her mouth was “He showed me your ring last night, it’s beautiful.”

WHAT!?!?!?!

I freaked out, texted my best friend, and squealed just a little. I knew I had to pretend like I didn’t know, but it was just SO hard. A month later, Seth suddenly REALLY wanted to go hiking at Peaks of Otter. I was suspicious since this was highly unusual, but decided it probably wasn’t going to happen that day. The day was pretty miserable. I woke up in a bad mood, and it was a three hour drive to the mountain. This wouldn’t have been so bad except that we left late, so by the time we got there it was close to getting dark. We decided to make the hike anyway, making the smart move of leaving our water bottles in the car. Once we reached the lower peak, I was done. I wanted to go home. My eyes were watering, I was out of breath, and I had snot running down my face. Seriously attractive. Seth takes this moment to get me to climb up on the rocks with him. I did, but not on the exact one he was standing on. I have a serious fear of heights, and there was a straight drop down I could see from that one. He seemed a little more frustrated than he should have been about my lack of cooperation, but I chose to ignore it. We descended the mountain and drove home.

Upon getting back to Richmond, I changed into comfy clothes and started flipping through the Bed, Bath, and Beyond ad. Seth came into the dining room in a huff and took it from me, and told me to get up. He made me close my eyes, turn around, and put his coat on. Then he had me pull the box out of his pocket, open it, and turn back around. That’s when he said “Will you marry me?”

My response? “That was lame, but yes.” Classy, I know.

So here we are a year later, and we’re finally starting to plan. We’ve grown so much in the last year, and I can’t wait to create a life and a family together.

Seth, I love you!

P.S. Try not to judge the pictures in the post too harshly…they were taking a year ago when I was just learning how to shoot manually 🙂

One thought on “| Mixed Up Monday | It’s Been a Year! |

  1. Pingback: Practice | Ring Shots | Stacey Dinch Photography

Leave a Reply

