Wedding Wednesday | Engagement Shoot Fashion

Soo last week I promised an awesome guest blogger, and here she is! Molly was my yearbook teacher my senior year of high school (which actually doesn’t make her nearly as old as she thinks), and we ended up as friends long after graduation. I knew my brain was going to be turning into a holiday bowl of mush this week (hence no blogs Monday or Tuesday) so I asked her to stop by to give you guys some fashion advice! 

I am woman enough to admit that I know NOTHING about being fashionable. Anything I put on that happens to look good is either pure luck, or can be attributed to my adorable best friend Julie. I blame my lack of girly knowledge on growing up with my dad, grandpa, and brother. Anywho, I’ve been following Molly’s blog for awhile now and have seen some of the awesome outfits she’s put together, so I know you’re going to be in good hands. If you’re like me, you stress out over what to wear for big important things, and your engagement pictures will be no different. Hopefully her advice will put you at ease! Without further ado, Miss Molly Stillman, ladies and gentlemen:

Hello! I’m Molly and I blog over at still being [molly]. I am SO excited to be guest blogging for Stacey today. Stacey and I go WAY back… in fact, so far back and I have to admit… I was Stacey’s yearbook teacher when she was in high school. WHAT?! That makes me feel old. It’s been awesome to see Stacey grow in her photography career.

Anyway, I’m talking out there to all you engaged or soon-to-be-engaged ladies! This post is all about ENGAGEMENT PICTURE OUTFITS!

You guys, you’re probably thinking, “Uhh, Molly, you’re already married. Why are you talking about engagement picture outfits?” True. I am married. But there was a time not too long ago that we were engaged and about to get engagement pictures taken.

You guys, our wedding photographer is/was amazing. And I knew these pictures would be on her blog and lots of people would see them. I mean, I was a Katelyn James blog stalker for YEARS before I got engaged. So, I knew her brides were FABULOUS and fashionable. BUT, more importantly, these were the first real portraits I was going to have with my soon-to-be husband and I needed my outfit(s) to be PERFECT.

I was stressing. Seriously. It was bad. I couldn’t sleep the night before. I felt like it was the night before school pictures or something. But even MORE important. And since I was living alone in my apartment, I had no one to tell me if the outfits were cute or if they would work or not.

I wanted to look like ME. SO, I took so many phone pictures and texted them to my friends and got feedback that way. LOL. Ahhh good times.

Anyway, I thought I’d share with you guys the photos I took and the outfits I considered and then I figured I’d share a couple pictures showing off the looks I actually wore. If you want, you can check out more of our pictures on our photographers blog by clicking here.

Please excuse the mess in these pictures. These were taken in my old apartment during the midst of cleaning out my apartment, so yeah, it was not in it’s peak condition.

option one: (i later came to learn that my husband hates doesn’t like this dress… so needless to say i didn’t wear it)

option two:

option three:

option four:

option five:

option six (without jean jacket):

option six (with jean jacket):

And here’s one of our engagement pictures. I went with outfit six! 🙂 My favorite. I love this outfit. I felt confident and I loved that hubs and I weren’t matchy-matchy… we coordinated.

[Outfit deets: Shirt: Ralph Lauren, Skirt: JCrew, Jacket: LOFT, Boots: Cervone]

And then, because hubs and I are rather spirited, we took a few pictures in Kenan Stadium on the UNC Chapel Hill campus.

[Outfit Deets: Shirt: college shirts :), Jeans: JCrew, Boots: DSW (really old)]

And then this was our last look. I ended up really loving this outfit and this picture below is one of my favorites. I actually have a giant canvas of this picture on our wall in our living room. It’s husband’s favorite picture of us. I don’t know why I love it so much, but I do!

Plus, I think my husband looks so darn handsome in this picture!!

[Outfit Deets: Shirt: Target (Merona), Jeans: Jcrew, Boots: DSW (old), Necklace and earrings: Kazuri Beads (Kenya)]

So, what does this all really boil down to? How does this all help YOU in your quest to find the perfect e-pic outfit?

1. Feel comfortable and confident. Whatever you’re wearing needs to make you feel like a ROCKSTAR!

2. Avoid a lot of busy patterns. Basic patterns like gingham, checks, stripes are okay – but getting wild and crazy with the patterns can detract from the images.

3. Bold colors! Since you’re straying away from patterns, stick with bold, gorgeous colors that will pop in the images.

4. Don’t be matchy matchy. You can coordinate, but not MATCH. White shirts and khakis are a thing of the past, people. 🙂

That’s all for today! Thanks for having me, Stacey! And come stop by my blog sometime. 🙂

One thought on “Wedding Wednesday | Engagement Shoot Fashion

Leave a Reply

