Borrowed and Blue Diaries | The Search for a Venue

So instead of the usual Wedding Wednesday, I’m trying something new. I use this blog as more than just a place to showcase my work and connect with my clients- it’s a place for me to write down all of the important things happening in my life. Right now, there’s a HUGE important thing happening….I’m getting MARRIED! Years from now, I want to be able to look back and remember all of the crazy planning that went in to planning mine and Seth’s big day. So for now, I’ll be doing “Borrowed and Blue Diaries” on Wednesdays. I’m going to be posting resources, DIY ideas….everything. After the wedding I’ll go back to regular Wedding Wednesdays!

So for today, I want to share with you our search for the perfect venue.

When I was a little girl, I dreamed of a big ballroom weddings. Something with black tie waiters, a huge flowing gown, and a cake with 15 tiers. Now that I’m older, I don’t want those things anymore. None of that is really me (or Seth). We’re both laid back people who like to have a good time, so we want a wedding that reflects that. When we first got engaged, my friend Julie emailed me the BEAUTIFUL proposal and wedding. They were the perfect godly couple…it was such an amazing story. What really stuck with me from their wedding story was the reception. All of their friends and family pulled together to decorate this run down barn, and it turned out beautifully.

I immediately knew I wanted a barn wedding. Since I grew up in the country, this was a great way to celebrate my roots. I googled for MONTHS trying to find an affordable barn wedding venue near Richmond. Finally, I found this place:

IMG_0014

Avery’s Branch Farms

The woman I emailed with was incredibly sweet, and was just as nice when I met her in person. Her family was asking for $1500 for a spring wedding, and they were willing to give us tables and chairs, as well as anything else decorative we might need. We were a little concerned about it being so far out (Amelia), but their barn was EXACTLY what I was looking for. We honestly probably would have picked this place, but then our plans changed.

With my grandma being sick, we decided to get married sooner rather than later. The plan was to have our wedding on my grandparents farm property in Pennsylvania. There’s no longer a barn on the property (this building is pretty much condemned) but there are 64 acres of pure beauty. Excuse the old logo!

Shalynn

However, this had to change too. By the time we rented bathrooms, generators, tables, chairs, and a tent….we were looking at close to $5,000. WAY over budget. So I started looking for cheaper places to rent these items from. A place I went to as a kid kept popping up, Oglebay. I always went to their zoo, but apparently there’s a resort there too! But guess what: no barn. HOWEVER, there is this perfect looking little cabin that only costs $600 to rent for the day. Seth and I are heading up this weekend to take a look and make sure it’s what we want. Here’s one of the pictures that their super nice coordinator, Shirley Holpp, sent me:

Camp Russel1

Isn’t it cute!?!?! I’ll be taking more pictures while we’re there this weekend to share with you guys. You can find out more about Oglebay Resort here!

Leave a Reply

