Recipe Corner | Simple Banana Ice Cream

Tuesday night, I was having insane cravings for something sweet. I don’t know what it was, but if I didn’t get some sugary goodness in my tummy immediately, I might have exploded.

 

Okay. That might be a little dramatic.

I raided my cabinets only to find that the only remotely sweet thing I had was a jar of Nutella, and some freezer burned pumpkin ice cream.

Stupid side effects of trying to eat healthy.

Oh, but then, I spotted these:

Image

I know. You’re like, “Stacey, old bananas? Were you really that desperate?” Well first, yes I was. And second, hear me out!

You’ve probably seen all over Pinterest (if you’re a pinning addict much like myself) that caption that goes something like “OMG! Healthy two ingredient ice cream!!” So seeing those bananas made me think of that pin, and I started looking for it. Problem is, I couldn’t find the one I needed. So, I did a quick google search that told me to freeze & process the bright yellow fruit, so that’s what I did.

I cut those babies up and popped ’em in the freezer for about an hour and a half.Image

Longest. Wait. Ever.

When they came out, I threw them in my sweet Hamilton Beach food processor that I got on clearance for like $10 a few years ago. Best 10 bucks I’ve ever spent.

 

Image

Throughout all of this, Hailey was intently watching me. She loves bananas about as much as I do. I love the side eye she’s giving me here. Don’t worry- I shared a few slices!

Image

After a few spins in the processor, I got a creamy goodness that looked JUST like any other ice cream I’ve bought. I threw in some Nutella for good measure, and viola! Sweet craving solved! And it doesn’t have all the extra sugar and preservatives and other strange things that I try to keep out of my diet (we can talk about that another day).

Image

So, let’s recap:

What You Need:

– 2 bananas (you can use more or less, I just used 2 and it was just enough to hit the spot)

– Whatever you want to add for flavor (honey, chocolate chips, coconut flakes, peanut butter, Nutella….whatever floats your boat)

What You Need To Do:

– Place a piece of wax paper on a freezer safe plate (you don’t have to do this, but it makes removing the frozen banana pieces a lot easier

– Slice the banana and lay the pieces on the plate

– Freeze for 1-2 hours (I wouldn’t go over two hours, or they might get too hard to chop)

– Remove bananas from freezer and put in blender/food processor. Blend until smooth.

– Add in your extras, blend those in using the blender/food processor as well (I added my Nutella after removing the bananas from the food processor and ended up with frozen chunks of the stuff. Letting the blender motor do the mixing helps prevent this).

What You Get:

– Uh-ma-zing Banana Ice Cream!

Image

Leave a Reply

