Julie & Zach | Carter Mountain Engagement Photographer

Writing this post is harder than I thought it would be. I’ve been thinking about the perfect way to word everything for a few weeks now- which probably isn’t helping with Julie’s excitement to finally see these posted! You see- this isn’t just another couple. While ALL of my couples mean the world to me, things are different when you’re this close to someone. Julie and I have been the best of friends for 12 years. It all started back in our 6th grade English class. We were assigned to do a project together, and the rest is history.

So, I think it’s safe to say I felt a little pressure when it came to the request Zach had for me. He was in Georgia, at basic training at Fort Benning. I had this feeling for awhile that he was going to propose to Julie, but I didn’t have any concrete evidence. Then one day, I got a Facebook message from his mom. Zach had ended up in the hospital with pneumonia a few days before he was set to come home, and he’d gotten to talk to her on the phone. He needed a favor, she told me. He wanted to propose during the double date trip we had planned for the weekend he came back- apple picking at Carter Mountain. He wanted to know if this was okay, and if I would capture the moment so that they could have those memories around forever. After telling his mom that of course, I would be honored to do such a thing, I immediately sent him a text.

“I. KNEW. IT. WHAT’S THE PLAN!?!?!?!??!”

We talked through text messages over the next few days and worked out the details. Then the day came. We around around for a few hours, waiting for great light and trying to find the perfect place. It seemed everyone in the state of Virginia was there that day, and Zach wanted a somewhat private spot for the perfect moment. After a while, the crowd died down. I pulled out my lens and told them I wanted to take some “couple” photos of the two of them. They held each other close as Zach shared words with Julie only for her ears. And then- it happened.

Zach dropped to one knee and a huge smile crossed Julie’s face. She said yes, and in the moment, I was SO happy for them.

Julie, you are and forever will be my closest friend (aside from Seth!). I am without words to describe how honored I am to be a part of planning this day with you. As much as I’ll miss you when you move to Colorado to start your life as an Army wife, I know this is going to be an amazing adventure for you. I can’t wait to see how the Lord uses you and Zach as a couple. And Zach- welcome to the family!

 

Enjoy some of my favorites from their engagement!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Julie & Zach | Carter Mountain Engagement Photographer

  1. Pingback: Julie and Zach | Just Married | Stacey Dinch Photography

Leave a Reply

