Comfort Food | Chicken and Dumplings

I don’t know about your neck of the woods, but Sunday here in Richmond was rainy, cold, and just plain dreary. Seth and I slept in since I had a pretty nasty migraine, then we went to see our friends Sara and David and their new baby! Earlier in the day we had been discussing dinner, and Seth mentioned he was really wanting some chicken and dumplings and a big pot of chili this week for dinner.

Because of my current love of all things baby- we ended up spending a little bit longer at the hospital than originally planned. The last thing I wanted to do when we got home was cook dinner and have to do dishes afterwards. I asked Seth if he was ok with ordering a pizza, and of course he said yes- but I could see that little bit of sadness in his eyes. On the way home I decided to just suck it up and make a good home cooked meal 🙂 After a quick stop at Kroger, we returned home and took over the kitchen. Working together, we made a pretty awesome dinner.

I only have an iPhone shot- no judging 😉

Image

I can’t claim credit for this delicious concoction. I got it from the Hungry Couple blog and tweaked it a little to my own liking. When I was trying to remember how to make chicken and dumplings, I recalled that most of the time it was made with cream of chicken soup. Since I have to watch what I eat now, canned pre-made soups like that are not an option. I got lucky in coming across this recipe for a homemade version! I hope you enjoy it as much as Seth and I did!

To Make the Soup:

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 Cup all purpose flour
32 oz. Chicken stock (the big box-like container)
1 Cup milk
1/2 Teaspoon salt
2 Tablespoons fresh dill, chopped
1/2 Teaspoon garlic powder
Pepper to taste

1lb Thin-Sliced Chicken Breasts

Melt the butter in a large pot. Add the flour and whisk until flour is mixed with butter. Slowly add chicken stock while whisking to ensure the flour is completely dissolved in the stock. Add milk and the rest of the dry ingredients.

Meanwhile, cook the chicken in a frying pan with a little butter, salt, and pepper. Once it is cooked all the way through, transfer to a cutting board. Shred and/or dice the chicken, then throw it in the pot with the soup.

Bring to a slow boil, and let simmer for 20-30 minutes.

To Make the Dumplings:

2 Cups all purpose flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 Teaspoons salt
1/4 Teaspoon pepper
2 Eggs
1 Cup buttermilk
1/4 Cup fresh chives, chopped
1/2 Cup cheddar cheese, shredded

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt and pepper in a bowl.  In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, buttermilk, chives and cheese.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until a sticky dough forms.  Using a spoon, drop the biscuits on top of the simmering soup and turn the heat up to medium. Cook for about 20 minutes until the dumplings are puffed up and no longer sticky.

Recipe adapted from Hungry Couple.

We served ours with some homemade mashed potatoes and garlic Italian bread. It was amazing!

Leave a Reply

