After I Do | The Importance of Date Night

Image

Remember when I announced Sweetheart Sessions and told you I was changing my “Why” for this business? In that post, I mentioned that I wanted to have a new series on the blog that focused on building and strengthening marriages. I also asked for suggestions to see what you guys wanted to see more of. By an overwhelming landslide, I got lots of requests for Date Night ideas. I think this is SO awesome!

When Seth and I were going through premarital counseling, we spent one session talking about the importance of dating even after marriage. During that session we realized that even though we had been “dating” for seven years, we had never really been on a real “date.” In high school, our dates were group dates. We went to see a movie on our own maybe once or twice. When I went to college, we spent most of the time at my dorm or his house, vegging out and watching TV. Our counselor stopped us in the middle of this comment and quickly recommended we instate a weekly date night, and stick to it. From that day on, we’ve made a solid effort to have a date night at least once a week.

I’ll admit, it’s been hard sometimes to come home after a long day of work and make ourselves do something other than put on sweat pants and call it a day. I’ve come to look forward to our date nights though- be it trying out a new local restaurant or clearing off the coffee table to play a game of Clue- it’s great to take the time to unplug and just enjoy each other’s company.

So with this in mind, I’m beginning a new series- “After I Do.” Get excited for Date Night ideas, yummy recipes, relationship book recommendations, and whatever else might pop in my head that could be marriage (or relationship!) strengthening. I’m so excited for all that is to come!

P.S. If you don’t already have a date night set aside weekly, try starting small with a monthly one. It doesn’t matter when- just make sure you STICK TO IT! Once you have your night picked, come back here and tell me you made the commitment! Then, make sure to follow the blog for ideas so you can be sure to keep your dates exciting!

Leave a Reply

