Year One | Personal

When you get engaged, people always talk about how fast your wedding day will fly by. They say to take a moment to stop, breathe, and take it all in. To enjoy it to it’s fullest. While I agree with all of that- I think the same could be said for the first year of marriage. If feels like just yesterday I was waking up in my hotel room, surrounded by my bridesmaids, ordering room service, and fighting off the butterflies.

Today Seth and I celebrate our first anniversary- and all of the firsts we’ve experienced together along the way. We didn’t think there was much left to learn to about each other since we dated for seven year before we got married, but boy were we wrong. This last year has been a roller coaster full of learning and growing with each other.

We took a short trip to Williamsburg over the weekend to celebrate. We were in such a hurry to hit the road as soon as we got home from work that I forgot to bring the big camera along with me, so I only have iPhone photos. I think that was for the best though- I was much more focused on being in the moment and enjoying our time together than I was on fiddling with settings to get the perfect shot.

Friday evening we just relaxed and admired the beauty of the ground where we stayed- the Historic Powhatan Resort. It was gorgeous!

2014-09-14_0003

We spent Saturday at Colonial Williamsburg and explored the grounds, then got a tour of the Capitol building.

2014-09-14_0001

2014-09-14_0002

It started POURING later in the afternoon, so we headed back to our room to dry off and then grabbed some dinner. We ended our short stay by getting breakfast from Duck Donuts on Sunday morning, then heading to a little beach spot near the river. We had it all to ourselves; such a great way to end the weekend!

2014-09-14_0005

2014-09-14_0004

I know it sounds like a super laid back trip, and it was, but it was exactly what we needed. We spend so much time taking care of things for family and friends that we very often let our own relationship fall by the wayside. It was wonderful to have this weekend to relax, rejuvenate, and reconnect.

Here’s the part where I’m gonna get cheesy y’all-

swing(Photo circa 2007)

Seth,

If someone would have told me when we met 9 years ago that we would be where we are now, I would have laughed in their face. As teenagers when we met for the first time, we were polar opposites. Somehow, a friendship grew over that year and you became one of the people I was closest to. Now look at us. I love that God brought us together so long ago. I love that we were able to know each other through all the awkward stages of life, and those that are still to come.

I know this year has been full of ups and downs. We’ve both seen the good, the bad, and the ugly like never before. We’ve had to lean on each other more than we ever thought possible. I’ve had to learn to give up being an independent person and allow you to be the person I depend on. You’ve had to be patient, and for that I am thankful. You have grown into such an amazing man from that crazy boy I once knew.

I love seeing God work in our relationship and our marriage growing stronger. I love doing life with you, growing with you, learning with you, loving with you.

If I had to do it over, I would choose you, every time.

Forever and always.

xoxo,

Stacey

 View More: http://katelynjames.pass.us/seth-and-stacey

Leave a Reply

